Auburn football: It’s almost the weekend, Tigers in the NFL, basketball is coming

Auburn football is the No. 1 topic in the War Eagle Wakeup every day — but we cover news, notes and analysis from across the Tigers’ sports world. Join us each morning to get caught up on everything you missed in the world of Auburn football, recruiting, basketball and more.

It’s almost game time

Auburn football is eager to move past its loss to Clemson this weekend.

Playing a day game in Jordan-Hare Stadium won’t exactly result in the same intense atmosphere as a night game in Death Valley, but still, there’s no place like home.

If you can’t make it to the game, be sure to catch the game on the SEC Network alternate channel.

A shameless plug

As you probably already know, it’s been a big week for Auburn alum and Apple CEO Tim Cook.

Apple unveiled its new iPhones, including the iPhone X, on Tuesday. The important thing isn’t the details or perks the new phone will offer, but the images used in the debut. Talk about a shameless plug for a big-time audience.

Auburn Tigers in the NFL 

Auburn football likely isn’t the only football you’re following. But there are easier ways you can keep up with your current college team and favorite pro players (who are also probably former Tigers).

The official Auburn Twitter account will post updates every week to keep you updated on what’s going on at the next level. It’s a good place to start since it’s the beginning of the season.

Speaking of beginning, that’s exactly what’s unfolding for Carl Lawson.

The Cincinnati Bengals defensive end earned great reviews through the summer and preseason and is off to a hot start, too.

Lawson recorded a top grade in his NFL Week 1 debut. Not bad for a newcomer.

In other Auburn football news:

TV networks selected for Auburn hoops

The SEC office announced TV networks and times for Auburn basketball on Wednesday afternoon.

One of the biggest games on the 2017-18 schedule is with Kentucky, and you can find that one on ESPN2 on Feb. 14 (8 p.m. CT). Six of Auburn’s nine league games at Auburn Arena will start no later than 7:30 p.m.

A trio of those games will be aired on ESPNU. That includes Tennessee (Jan. 2 at 6 p.m.), Arkansas (Jan. 6 at 5 p.m.) and Ole Miss (Jan. 9 at 8 p.m.). Basketball fans can also catch Bruce Pearl’s team on the SEC Network, too. That’s where fans can see the Tigers take on South Carolina on Feb. 17 and March 3.

Here are some of the games, times and channels you’ll want to know:

Auburn Basketball’s 2017-18 schedule (all times CT)

Nov. 2 (Thur.)  Barry University (exh.)

Nov. 10 (Fri.)    Norfolk State

Nov. 16 (Thur.)(1) Indiana State (ESPNU), 10:30 am

Nov. 17 (Fri.)    (1) Temple/Old Dominion (ESPN2/U), 10 am/12:30 pm

Nov. 19 (Sun.)  (1) Clemson/Dayton/Hofstra/Ohio (ESPN2/U), TBA

Nov. 24 (Fri.)    Winthrop

Nov. 29 (Wed.) (2) at Dayton

Dec. 3 (Sun.)      George Mason

Dec. 6 (Wed.)    Gardner-Webb

Dec. 9 (Sat.)       UAB

Dec. 16 (Sat.)    (3) Middle Tennessee

Dec. 19 (Tue.)   at Murray State

Dec. 23 (Sat.)    UConn (ESPN2), 1:30 pm

Dec. 30 (Sat.)    Cornell

Jan. 2 (Tue.)       at Tennessee (ESPNU), 6 pm

Jan. 6 (Sat.)        Arkansas (ESPNU), 5 pm

Jan. 9 (Tue.)       Ole Miss (ESPNU), 8 pm

Jan. 13 (Sat.)     at Mississippi State (SECN), 2:30 pm

Jan. 17 (Wed.)  at Alabama (SECN), 6 pm

Jan. 20  (Sat.)     Georgia (SECN), 5 pm

Jan. 24 (Wed.)  at Missouri (SECN), 8 pm

Jan. 27 (Sat.)     LSU (SECN), 5 pm

Jan. 30 (Tue.)    at Ole Miss (SECN), 8 pm

Feb. 3 (Sat.)       Vanderbilt (SECN), 7:30 pm

Feb. 7 (Wed.)    Texas A&M (ESPN2), 8 pm

Feb. 10 (Sat.)    at Georgia (SECN), 2:30 pm

Feb. 14 (Wed.) Kentucky (ESPN2), 8 pm

Feb. 17 (Sat.)    at South Carolina (SECN), 2:30 pm

Feb. 21 (Wed.) Alabama (SECN), 7:30 pm

Feb. 24 (Sat.)    at Florida (SECN), 7:30 pm

Feb. 27 (Tue.)   at Arkansas (SECN), 8 pm

Mar. 3 (Sat.)      South Carolina (SECN), 2:30 pm

Mar. 7-11 (Wed.-Sun.) SEC Tournament (St. Louis – Scottrade Center)(SECN/ESPN), TBA

Never enough basketball 

Because Auburn fans can never get enough of their Tigers, be sure to snag your tickets for Terri Williams-Flournoy’s women’s basketball as well.

Coach Flo’s team is coming off of back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances and is looking to add to that success this season.

Tweet of the day

Maybe one day Johnson will get the answer he’s seeking.

Miss a previous edition? Find every post of SEC Country’s daily War Eagle Wakeup Auburn football post right here.