Auburn football: Jordan-Hare turns into concert hall, big weekend for baseball, softball

Welcome to SEC Country’s daily War Eagle Wakeup, a rundown of everything happening in Auburn football and Auburn Tigers athletics with Lauren Shute. Today, we discuss a weekend stadium transformation and the weekend’s events. 

Superfest in the stadium

The inside of Jordan-Hare Stadium will look a little different this weekend.

The second Music and Miracles Superfest is happening on the Plains. It’s an event that benefits Fighting Cancer and Feeding the hungry. Local cancer patients and caregivers, as well as several thousand others will attend Saturday’s concert featuring Blake Shelton, Thomas Rhett, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Kelsea Ballerina and David Ray will perform.

Fairley’s Friday feelings 

Nick Fairley is one of the best defensive lineman to ever play for the Tigers.

He recently shared some of his fondest memories and love for Auburn with Auburn football’s official twitter account.

In 2010, Fairley helped Cam Newton and Auburn secure its most recent national title, earning All-America honors and the Lombardi Award as well.

Head into your weekend with some wise words from the current New Orleans Saint.

ICYMI

Happening on the Plains 

Baseball is back 

Auburn baseball is back at Plainsman Park this weekend for an important three-game SEC series against Arkansas.

It’s been about two weeks since the Tigers have played at home and they’ll want that advantage against the Razorbacks. Arkansas is 31-8 so far this season and are ahead of Butch Thompson’s team by one game in the SEC West.

Game 1 begins today at 6 p.m. CT/ 7 p.m. ET (SECNetwork+).

Saturday’s game will be a little bit different because of the concert in Jordan-Hare Stadium. Click on the tweet below for all the information you’ll need regarding parking for Saturday’s game, which begins at 1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET (SECNetwork+).

Sunday’s matchup is set for 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET (SEC Network).

Softball in SC 

It’s been a tough month for Auburn softball. A trio of players was suspended indefinitely after being arrested early Thursday morning.

Auburn softball will take on the South Carolina Gamecocks in Columbia this weekend. But Clint Myers’ team will be without shortstop Haley Fagan, pitcher Makayla Martin and reserve outfielder Brittany Maresette.

Third baseman Kasey Cooper didn’t start Wednesday night’s game because she suffered an injury in pregame warmups (ground ball to the face), but she’s expected to be back in the starting lineup this weekend.

Tennis takes down Arkansas 

Auburn women’s tennis defeated No. 14 Arkansas on Thursday afternoon with some clutch play from Andie Dikosavljevic.

Tiger tracks

Auburn track and field is hosting the War Eagle Invitational this weekend at Outsell-Rosen Track. 14 teams will compete at the event.

Miss a previous edition? Find every post of SEC Country’s daily War Eagle Wakeup Auburn football post right here