Typically, the Monday morning SEC coaches’ teleconference does not involve questions about previous games. Beat reporters have already had a chance to discuss weekend results with coaches in postgame interviews, and have limited time to ask about upcoming matchups.
It speaks to the bizarre nature of Saturday’s Kentucky-Texas A&M overtime classic that Wildcats coach John Calipari was still being asked to clear up one mysterious aspect.
Who sent Skal Labissiere to the free-throw line?
Following A&M’s victory, coach Billy Kennedy claimed the Aggies decided to put Labissiere on the stripe after Isaac Humphries’ controversial foulout.
To clear this up: Billy Kennedy says A&M was allowed to pick the FT shooter after Humphries fouled out. Assistant chose Skal. Not Briscoe?
— Kyle Tucker (@KyleTucker_CJ) February 21, 2016
Billy Kennedy said his assistant who scouted UK made the recommendation. When Skal made the first, "I said, 'Dang. He can stroke it.'"
— Jerry Tipton (@JerryTipton) February 21, 2016
Labissiere made the first to tie the score but missed the second, keeping the game deadlocked. Texas A&M won on the next possession, tossing in a putback layup with 0:00 on the clock.
There was a problem, though: Rules stated that Calipari should’ve made the choice of who to put on the line. ESPN’s Jay Bilas reported that Calipari did, in fact, make the call.
Texas A&M did not choose Skal Labissiere to shoot the free throws. Calipari made that choice.
— Jay Bilas (@JayBilas) February 21, 2016
That news directly contradicted Kennedy’s statements. So, Monday morning, reporters wanted a firm answer from Calipari.
“We put him in for both the free-throw shooting and the defense,” Calipari said. “That was us.”
Unless Kennedy offers up a rebuttal, the final piece of a thrilling game is ready for the history books.
Kentucky hosts Alabama on Tuesday night (7 p.m. ET, ESPN).